Happy Hour!


After a long day at my internship, I love a delicious martini! Happy hour time is always a blast, but it can be expensive depending on where you go.

To save money, I love making my own cocktails! It has always been something my mom and I bond over. We love to make yummy drinks like sangria, martinis, and favorite, a batch of mojitos!

Today I am going to share with you a blueberry lemonade martini! It’s basically the same thing as a cosmopolitan but I use a different juice. I will list the ingredients below first.

  • 1 1/2 oz. lemon vodka
  • 1 oz. triple sec
  • 1 oz. blueberry lemonade
  • 3/4 oz lemon juice
  • splash of diet sprite
  • drink shaker

martiniingredients

I am really lucky because the orange shaker I have came from a christmas promotion box of Cointreau. My mom thought it was the coolest thing so she bought three bottles so she could give each one of her daughters a mini shaker. If you do not have this mini shaker, they you will have to measure your ingredients out with a shot glass! A standard shot glass is 1 1/2 ounces. So, when measuring under 1.5 ounces, just leave about a centimeter left at the top.

Steps to make the martini:

  1. combine all ingredients except for sprite into the shaker
  2. add ice
  3. attach the top of the shaker and shake you ingredients for 10 seconds
  4. pour mix into martini glass
  5. add a splash of diet sprite to your martini
  6. enjoy!

Blueberry lemonade martini

 

In this post, i’d also like to share with you some of my favorite cocktail spots. I live in Kent, Ohio and there are so many amazing bars and restaurants for a delicious affordable cocktail. My number one place right now is Bricco. I first tried Bricco in the summer with my dad and sister. Ever since then, it’s held a special place in my heart. I have tried so many of their martinis but my absolute favorite is the pink flirtini.

Bricco Martini

It has a splash of champagne, how could I not love it?  Martinis here are $7.50 each, but you definitely get your moneys worth, the martinis are huge!

Another favorite place for drinks in the area is Ray’s Place! They have a large selection of beers on tap that they change regularly and daily specials. I’m not the biggest fan of beer, but I definitely have my fair share in the summertime when shandy’s make an appearance on tap. Ray’s is also also famously known for their long Island Ice teas. It’s $3.75 for a very large mug and it’s pretty much the only drink you will need all night. Ray’s has been in Kent for a very long time. It’s a casual bar that all the townies and college kids love. The staff is awesome and I give them a lot of credit for dealing with such a busy bar and restaurant every night of the week!

Below is a picture of my dad and I our first time at Ray’s Place. Every time he visits me we have to go there for at least a beer!

Ray's Place

 

What are your favorite places for happy hour around you? I’d love to find out!

One thought on “Happy Hour!

  1. That blueberry lemonade martini looks delicious, Devin. I love making my own cocktails, too. One of my personal favorites to make is a key lime pie martini. I’ve tried a few variations, but Emeril Lagasse’s recipe is my favorite by far. It requires a little more work, but it’s definitely worth it. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/key-lime-pie-martini-recipe3.html

    You should definitely check out the Chocolate Bar in downtown Cleveland if you haven’t been there yet. They’ve got an amazing martini menu. One of my favorites from there is the chocolate salted caramel martini, which ends up tasting more like dessert.

    Like

Leave a Reply

